Skip to content

Living longer than Papa

July 14, 2017

Papa died at 62, so I am now 3 years older than he ever was. It is weird, and some days feels like it is so unfair. Then I remember my friends who are 80, 90 and approaching 100 and tell myself to buck up and stop whining.

When I visit Ohio I like to see the places where I lived when I was a kid, but often don’t have a chance to do it. I remember the stories Papa used to share with us about what it was like for him growing up in Cleveland and the nearby areas. I wish I could share with him again. Or with my brothers who are gone, my mother and so many others. I saved some of his letters, and am so happy I did, but often wish I had all of them.

Some of the things I want to share with my son and his children are things they don’t care about at all. I am so lucky to be able to come and visit as often as I do get to come. I watched Lion the other day, the movie about a young man who grew up in India and ended up getting adopted by a couple in Australia, tracing his story across those continents. My life is so blessed.

I get to go to Trinita next week for a couple weeks, working with families from Philadelphia and the local area in Connecticut for a week each, so excited to be able to do it, this will be my 10th year. I need to remember to take each day as it comes, doing what I can and being aware of the needs of others, knowing and trusting that what I need to help will be given to me, if I only ask. I am asking!!! Thank you!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

