Skip to content

Looking for work again.

January 20, 2017

Being an actor is not an easy life. When you get work, nothing is finer, but we spend most of our time looking for work, which anyone who has had time unemployed or underemployed knows is very frustrating to say the least.

To be unemployed from my straight job, so I have to look for that kind of work as well as acting work, is depressing. It doesn’t get easier as you age, either!

I love ushering at Radio City Music Hall, and at the Helen Hayes, but both jobs are on hiatus now, the latter for renovation and the former because the Christmas Spectacular ended on Jan. 2nd. I also work for World Strides, a group that gives students and their chaperones educational tours through NYC (and Philly, Boston and DC but I don’t work there), and their busy time is from Feb. through June, so I hope they will schedule me a lot, but there are no guarantees.

I started working with a day care agency that works mainly with pre schoolers, and I love it, but I find I can’t do as much as I used to be able to do, so can’t work full time for them, and they have others who can, so I only get sub work here and there. Argh! I always thought I could fall back on waitressing, but they hire younger folk for that, too.

I need to get it together and get back to auditioning regularly, but I caught a cold from the kids and don’t have the energy today. Sigh. So it goes. Be seeing you!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Yes this is our lot as aging actors. Well said. We must keep on keepin’ on. Strangely I don’t think I’d trade it for the world. Well maybe for a regular work on a successful streaming drama.

  2. Thank you Tom, for your comment! It is so true, wouldn’t trade it for anything but a regular acting job! Hey, a few friends of mine have a show at Theatre for the New City that has a preview tonight and opens tomorrow, try to see it and say hello to the director, George Ferencz, John Barilla is one of the actors and the stage manager Karen Pontius are all friends from college days. Keep on keeping on!

Leave a Reply

